University of Arizona College of Nursing wins big at 2019 Western Institute of Nursing Conference

April 29, 2019

Over the weekend of April 10-13, the University of Arizona College of Nursing made a strong showing at the Western Institute of Nursing’s annual conference in San Diego, CA. The conference is a chance for nursing scholars, scientists and students to network with their peers and learn about each other’s research. The theme of this year’s conference was “Career, Connection, Community,” concepts that are familiar to UA Nursing’s community-minded faculty and students, who frequently lend support and instruction to various schools and health and community organizations throughout the Tucson area.

UA Nursing faculty and students won awards in several categories. In addition, two faculty members, Sheila Gephart, PhD, RN, associate professor, and Kimberly Shea, PhD, RN, CHPN, clinical associate professor, were inducted into the Academy because of their demonstrated excellence in nursing practice and who have advanced nursing in direct care, education or research. Read more about these deserving inductees here.

“At least 17 faculty, 26 students and 1 staff member attended WIN this year,” said UA Nursing Interim Dean Ki Moore, PhD, RN, FAAN.   “Our students and faculty had a record number of posters and podium presentations. Faculty and student awards were celebrated at a special Awards Luncheon. This conference is a unique opportunity for us to showcase the University of Arizona College of Nursing excellence in research and practice.”

For a gallery of photos from this year’s WIN Conference click here.

UA Nursing Award Winners:

Kathleen Insel, PhD, RN

Regional Geriatric Nursing Research Award

The Western Institute of Nursing makes annual awards to a senior nurse researcher and a new nurse researcher to recognize outstanding nurse researchers and to foster and showcase geriatric nursing research. The recipient of the new researcher award in 2019 was Kathleen Insel, PhD, RN, Professor and Interim Biobehavioral Health Science Division Director. Read more about Dr. Insel’s research here.

Rhea N. DeCoteau, MSN, RN, CDE

Ann M. Voda American Indian/Alaska Native/First Nation Conference Award

The Ann M. Voda American Indian/Alaska Native/First Nation Conference Award was established in 2008 by Ann Voda to encourage American Indian/Alaskan Native/First Nation nursing students or nurse clinicians to participate with the WIN community of scholars. The 2019 award recipient was PhD student Rhea N. DeCoteau, MSN, RN, CDE. Read more about DeCoteau’s research here.

Cheryl Lacasse, PhD, RN, AOCNS

Poster Award Finalist:

“Virtual Clinical Supervision for Senior Nursing Preceptorship: A Feasibility Pilot”
Cheryl Lacasse, PhD, RN, AOCNS, clinical professor, Coordinator, RN-MSN Program, Director, Teaching/Learning Practice and Evaluation; Mary O’Connell, MA, RN, PHN, senior lecturer. Learn more about Dr. Lacasse’s research here.

Lauren A. Acosta, MS, RN, SANE-A

Best Student Poster Finalist:

“Incorporating Photovoice in Qualitative Research: Lessons Learned”
Lauren A. Acosta, MS, RN, SANE-A, PhD Candidate

Megan Hebdon, DNP, RN, NP-C, PhD Candidate

Best Research and Information Exchange (R&IE) Poster Finalist:

“Illness and Healthcare Use in Caregivers of Latina Breast Cancer Survivors”
Megan Hebdon, DNP, RN, NP-C, PhD Candidate; Alice Pasvogel, PhD, RN; Chris Segrin, PhD; Terry A. Badger, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC, FAPOS, FAAN